Escape to Walden

This weekend, Jim and I escaped to our friends’ house with Mokie, to get far way from cell phones, email, Facebook, and find some healing in the woods.  We celebrated Mokie’s fifth birthday with a camping trip at our friends’ amazing one bedroom cabin tucked into the middle of 180 acres of glorious forest, cut in half by a cool and refreshing stream.  Good wine, great friends, delicious food, fun with Mokie, fresh air, sunshine, and good music for three days in the woods. It was absolutely what we needed, and I’m very thankful to Seamus and Kimmy for having us up there.  It is healing for Jim, Mokie, and I to spend such quality time with amazing friends in what was surely Monte’s favorite place.  Here’s a picture of the birthday girl:

I picked up Monte’s ashes on Friday.  They were in a beautiful carved cherry wood box.  I, of course, was a mess.  Dr. B cried when she saw me, and gave me a beautiful gift.  I am guessing that she may be a scrapbooker, because I received, on some lovely card stock, an inked print of Monte’s paw and the following poem:

The Last Battle

If it should be that I grow frail and weak,

And pain should keep me from my sleep,

Then will you do what must be done,

For this, the last battle, can’t be won.

You will be sad, I understand,

But don’t let grief then stay your hand,

For on this day, more than the rest,

Your love and friendship must stand the test.

We have had so many happy years,

You wouldn’t want me to suffer, so,

When the time comes, please, let me go.

Take me to where my needs they’ll tend,

Only, stay with me, until the end.

And hold me firm and speak to me,

Until my eyes no longer see.

I know in time you will agree,

It is a kindnesss you do to me.

Although my tail its last has waved,

From pain and suffering I have been saved.

Don’t grieve that is must be you,

Who has to decide this thing to do;

We’ve been so close, we two, these years,

Don’t let your heart hold any tears.

Thank you, Dr. Beaulieau and the staff at Dickin Memorial Animal Hospital for taking such good care of our boy, in both his life and death.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

